Thoughts on Batman

With the new Batman movie, The Dark Knight, release quickly approaching, I’ve been thinking about what the film’s reception is likely to be. Since I’ve excited to see the movie since the end of Batman Begins, I’ve had high expectations for the second installment in this re-vamped series.

I first fell in love with Batman watching the old live-action TV series staring Adam West when I was about four. For years straight, I was Batman for Halloween. Try as they might, my parents could not convince me it would be better if I pretended to be Batwoman or Batgirl. “I’m BATMAN,” I would defiantly cry. One of the first gifts Hubby have me was the box set of Batman movies; I watched them all in about a two day span. He purchased Batman Begins before we married, and every time I came to visit him, we watched it. I just never get tired of the theme of good versus evil and the struggle to remain good in such proximity to evil. I’m excited the films are getting revamped, as some of the latter films lost sight of this theme and became, well, just a little silly.

Thus far, positive reviews are now abundant (you can see some of them here), and many have focused on the prevalence, and wonderful subtlety in the way the theme is presented. Hooray! But, my fear since learning of Heath Ledger’s untimely death has been that it will overshadow the film and bring it more acclaim than it perhaps deserves. Not that I don’t want the movie to have a great reception, but I want it to garner what praise it receives because it is genuinely a good movie. I hope this will be the case, but this morning I found this article discussing Ledger’s chances to win a posthumous Oscar for his role as the Joker. Both a nomination for a role in a superhero flick and a posthumous win would be relatively unprecedented. I haven’t seen the movie, or any clips (other than a few TV trailers I’ve caught), so I can’t really pass judgment. Regardless of the film’s reception, I know I’LL enjoy watching it time and time again. And I take comfort in the fact that, as the article states:

Warner Bros. and the filmmakers are profuse in their praise of Ledger but have been diplomatic about the Oscar talk. Awards publicity generally pads a movie’s box-office and DVD receipts, and the studio has cautiously avoided any appearance of profiting from the added attention Ledger’s death has brought to the film.

Leave a Reply

