Of Weddings and Gardens

Hubby and I just got back from our four-day trek down to Richmond for his brother’s wedding. Normally, I wouldn’t count four solid days with my in-laws in their crazy glory to be high on my “things that are fun” list, but the trip was surprisingly a lot of fun.

We kicked things off Thursday with a trip to the spa. The bride, her matron of honor, two sisters in law and I went for manicures, pedicures, and massages. It was nice to spend some time with my future sister-in-law and her family, and hey, a massage can only help! Her sisters in law were also her bridesmaids, but I was pleased I didn’t feel like I was crashing the bridesmaids party, just included as part of the family. After the spa, we added spouses, and spouses to be, and had dinner.

Friday got off to an early start when hubby had to make a 9 o’clock tee time on the other side of town for golf with the guys. I had breakfast with the fabulous Erin and a great New York style deli near the hotel. All I’m saying is that Challah French Toast is where its at! It was great to catch up with her and to have a break in all the family festivities, not to mention getting to forgo the “on your best behavior” meeting the bride’s relatives and many of my hubby’s for the first time necessitated. Almost directly after this, I headed out with my mother-in-law and my husband’s two aunts to the bridal luncheon. Then, it was back to the hotel to change for the rehearsal and dinner.

The wedding was held in the Lewis Ginter Botanical Gardens, which are absolutely beautiful! If you are ever in Richmond, I highly suggest paying them a visit. After mingling and eating at the rehearsal dinner, hubby and I made our way over to the Children’s Garden, which was near where the ceremony would take place and had the added bonus of have a round stilt house over-looking the water. Walking around there, we decided if we had kids we would take a trip just to visit the gardens. There are all kinds of different areas representing the plant life in different areas of the world, the kids are encouraged to take care and explore all of the plants, and imprints of animal and leaves are all over the concrete walkway to make for a great scavenger hunt. AND they have a great water play area. We loved it!

It was also a perfect setting for an intimate style wedding, which this certainly was. The rain held off until well after the ceremony and pictures. After the bridal party had left, the pastor had a little somethin’ extra to tell the rest of us, saying that if we really wanted their marriage to be successful, we shouldn’t give them advice, we should instead love them, listen to them, support them and, above all, pray for them. With just under a year of marriage under my belt, it really made me think about how often I do things in my marriage because someone else said it worked for them. Just as every person is different, so is every marriage different, and what works for one couple can cause a whole lot of heartache for another. I do think advice is sometimes needed, but I think how much better my marriage would be if I considered the advice I had been given, prayed about it, and asked the person who advised me to pray about it as well. Definitely something to chew on!

So, I’ll leave you my discovery that I can get along really well with my in laws for long periods of time if we have a project to work on together and if I have an attitude of service towards them (which is a hard one), as well as some of my favorite pictures from the weekend. Enjoy!

The Bride and Groom on their way to the rehearsal dinner.

Everyone got some honey made by the groom’s uncle.

Picture frame towards the front of the gardens.

Bridesmaids help the bride with her dress.

The mother of the groom waiting for the ceremony to start.

Mother of the groom with her bouquet and ceremony program.

Congratulations to the happy couple!
2 Responses

  1. These are some really nice pictures did you take them? Also, the advise from the pastor is really great. Thank you for sharing.

  2. Thanks! I did take them. My mother in law forgot her her camera, so I tried to take a lot of pictures, and I lucked out with these great ones! Although Hubby did take the last one…

Leave a Reply

