Judy McNair Chicken and Buttermilk Biscuits

This week, Works for Me Wednesday is themed! Everyone is posting some of their favorite 5 ingredient recipes, and of course, I’m following along as well

When I was much younger, my parents were in a couple’s Sunday School class that had frequent get-togethers at the leader’s house. One evening, I guess my parents couldn’t find a baby sitter, because my brother and I ended up tagging along for dinner. That night, the lovely Judy McNair served a wonderful Italian-inspired breaded chicken dish. It was a hit! My mom later modified the recipe to be a little lighter, and consequently, a lot easier to make!

Judy McNair Chicken

What you need: breadcrumbs, Italian Seasoning, Dijon mustard, Worcestershire sauce and some kind of boneless, skinless chicken (I use both breasts and tenderloins)

1. Mix breadcrumbs and Italian Seasoning in one bowl (sometimes I like to add parsley flakes for the pretty green color).

2. In another bowl, mix equal parts mustard and Worcestershire sauce (I don’t measure anything, just mix until I have a consistency I like, and add more if I need it).

3. Coat chicken with mustard and Worcestershire sauce mixture, transfer chicken to other bowl and coat with bread crumbs.

4. Put on pan and cook at 350 F for about 20 minutes (you may need to cook longer if your chicken pieces are rather thick).

I served my chicken with fresh green beans and corn, both one ingredient, quick cooking foods. If you’re feeling a little ambitious, you could make these 5 ingredient buttermilk biscuits as well.

Buttermilk Biscuits

You will need: 1 1/2 c. self-rising flour, 2/3 c. shortening, 1/2 c. buttermilk.

1. Place flour in bowl. Add shortening and cut in until evenly distributed evenly in pieces with flour.

2. Add buttermilk and mix. Mixture should not be too damp.

3. Roll dough out on flour on wax paper and pat or cut into rounds.

4. Back at 425 for 13 min.

Enjoy!

One Response

  1. Sounds yummy! I’m a Jesus-lover,too! Check out my blog at http://www.phenomenaltruths.wordpress.com if you’d like.
    Andrea

Leave a Reply

