Back Pain

I’ve suffered from various forms of back pain since I was in high school. Part of it has been caused by the way I sleep, part of it (I’m sure) was caused by by carrying a far too heavy backpack, and part of it is simply caused by genetics. In college, the stress of school work and lots of back-to-back due dates compounded my problem. I went to a chiropractor when I was home from college (and on my parent’s insurance), which drastically reduced my pain. But, now that I’m married and off on my own (with hubby – of course!), it seems a little frivolous to shell out the big bucks on trips to the chiropractor so I can be a little more comfortable.

Tiger BalmBut, never fear! I have found a solution that really works for me in a number of ways — Tiger Balm. Tiger Balm is a product that originated in China (I think), and is all-natural. It works in way similar to Icy-Hot, but its sent is more mentholated, which I enjoy much more. I liken the tingly feeling you get after a few minutes to the way Burt’s Bees tingles your lips a bit, but now you just tingle over a larger surface area. I can hardly think of anything more relaxing than falling asleep with that feeling.

Tiger Balms comes in a couple of different preparations (a Vaseline-like balm, a lineament, a patch, and possibly one more I can’t seem to remember), so its easy to find one that suits your needs. I prefer the balm, mostly because it needs to be rubbed into the skin, and I’m happy to have any excuse to ask hubby for a massage! The balm comes in three different strengths; I use the extra strength, called Tiger Balm Red. This, while not as effective as a trip to the chiropractor, has cleared up some of my worst pains and strains in only a couple of days. The only down side to the extra-strength version is that it can stain clothing. I usually rub mine on before bed and put my grey pajama shirt on, and I haven’t had any problem with staining with that. I did have a problem with a lighter fabric once, but it hasn’t been too much of a problem yet. The best part? I bought two containers of the balm in February on clearance at Wal-Mart for about 10 or 12 bucks. The first little jar is still over half-full. You can’t beat that!

SPECIAL NOTE: If you are pregnant or nursing, Tiger Balm recommends you talk to your doctor before using. I have yet to be either, so I haven’t looked into when it is safe to use this product. Since it is all-natural, I don’t think it would be too much of a problem, but I can’t say for sure. If you are either and want to use this, please ask your doctor first!

For more great ideas and tips, visit Shannon’s blog, Rocks in my Dryer.

One Response

  1. That reminds me that I have some Tiger Balm somewhere, can’t imagine why I didn’t think to use it for my back pain! I love how it smells. Thanks for the tip!

Leave a Reply

