Choping an Onion to Make Martha Stewart Proud

It’s Work’s For Me Wednesday!

One morning, as I was getting ready to go to work, I saw Martha Stewart on the Today Show teaching the cast how to cook some scrumptious dish. She asked Ann to cut an onion, and was immediately APPALLED and Ann’s onion cutting skills. She gave her a brief description of the “proper” way to cut an onion, and promised to send over a book on knife skills. I decided to try Martha’s way of onion dicing, and found I liked it more than traditional dicing, which always seemed to take forever. Martha’s way really works for me, but alas, her website doesn’t have directions with pictures, which I think is really helpful, so here’s my version of Martha’s onion dicing.

Start with a nice, big onion.

Peel it anyway you’d like. I like to cut mine in half (the next step) before peeling it, but you can do this however you’d like.

Here’s what they look like peeled and halved! I did make make one half a little bigger than I wanted, so I just halved it again, which worked fine, but try to get them even, it makes the process easier and faster.

Next, start making cuts along the onion. Start on one side, making them angled, and work your way around. The middle cut should be straight up and down. Make sure you cut all way the through the onion on these slits — the knife should hit the cutting board. Once you’re made all your cuts, the onion half should look a little something like this:

Now, Martha says its best to use your knuckles to hold the onion in place while you cut. I usually use my fingers, but here I am using my knuckles in the photo so I can make Martha proud.

Now, make cuts across the onion in the opposite direction of the first cuts. I love cutting an onion this way, because, as you can see, you get a relatively uniform size, and once you get the hang of the first cuts, it’s a lot faster than dicing the “original” way.

You will, however, have a nice little end piece left to dice “traditionally.” No big deal, the hard work has already been done!

I cut one onion, in three halves (because, apparently, I am not goo at cutting things in half), in about 15 minutes, including photo-documenting every step. And let me say, it is very difficult to take photos of yourself cutting something.

Cutting an onion this way works for me, and for Martha. Find out what works for others here!

4 Responses

  1. I’ve always wondered if there was a better way I could be cutting my onion! I’ve got one of those Pampered Chef chopper things, but I still cut onions myself sometimes. Thanks for the tips. Your method looks so much easier than the way I’ve been doing it! πŸ™‚

  2. Great tutorial- thanks! πŸ™‚
    Blessings,
    Michele
    http://www.frugalgranola.blogspot.com

  3. martha stewart…as a professional chef i must say i am appalled that centuries old techniques(that have worked fantastically for hundreds of years)are being casually tossed aside for personal convenience. your method, while practical, does not produce uniform pieces or consistency. not to mention it appears slightly dangerous. there is also the issue of flavor. there will be more bruising and bashing done to the layers of onions in this martha technique…taking away valuable onion flavor. make sure you have a super sharp knife, and use the proper method. practice makes perfect. practice makes you faster.

  4. […] Mahanandi has a post on the cutting and chopping of garlic, explaining the different methods and the difference in taste. Similarly, Even a Pencil has a post describing how to chop onions. […]

Leave a Reply

