Favorite Easy Muffin Recipe

I love to cook, but I HATE the clean-up that’s often involved. I also hate having to throw something together at the last minute for a get-together, party, or, in this case for me this week, something to send over the the new neighbors. But, I’ve found the perfect recipe for a quick, easy, one bowl muffin that tasts like you slaved away over it. Meet the Pumpkin Spice Muffin.

When I was in college, one of my friends mother’s went on Weight Watchers, and found a great website with all kinds of delicious baked-good recipes on it. I can’t find it now, but I still remember how to make this one! This recipe is sooo stinkin’ easy, you only need four ingredients. Well, you really only need three, but I think it tastes better if you use a fourth. Here they are:

1 can pure pumpkin

1 box spice cake mix

1/2 cup water

optional: cinnamon chips or cinnamon sugar

Mix together the spice cake mix, pumpkin and water until smooth. Then you can add cinnamon chips! I prefer these to cinnamon sugar, because they make the muffins just a touch moister and gooier. And the gooier the better, if you ask me. I don’t measure these, but I usually cover the top of the bowl with them and then mix them in. I’d estimate I put a little over a third of a cup? You don’t want too many, just enough that a few end up in each muffin.

Once you mix up your cinnamon chips, put the mixture in your muffin pans! I used mini-muffin pans for my most recent batch, and I filled them up to the top just about. What can I say, I like extra-large mini muffins, and these don’t puff up a whole lot. Bake at 350 F for 10 min. for mini-muffins, and about 15 for regular muffins, or until a toothpick comes out clean. If you can’t find cinnamon chips (I can’t usually in my small-town grocery store unless its Christmas), now is the time to add the cinnamon sugar! Just sprinkle it on top as soon as the muffins are out of the oven. You can add it right before they go in as well, but this way it melts less and makes kind of a “crust” on top of the muffin. Yum!

I promise these taste like you grew the pumpkin, make your own puree, and did all kinds of complicated things. No one believes these are as easy as they are once they taste them! I have a friend who likes them sooo much, she asked me to make some for her wedding reception. I didn’t. but I could have, and they would have been a hit!

I made these to go in treat bags to take my neighbors along with homemade soft pretzels of Laura’s. If you haven’t checked out this recipe (from last week’s WFMW), you really, really should. I cannot tell you how delicious these are! And make sure you check out all the other great tips this week too!

7 Responses

  1. SO glad you like the pretzels!! We LOVE ’em!!

  2. I’ve never made these with spice cake. My recipe is identical but calls for chocolate cake. It’s delicious and fudgy! I’ll have to try your versiion – I’m sure it’s great.

  3. Amazing. I am collecting recipes that have less than five ingredients these days. Thanks for this one. I will definitely try it.

  4. I thought about those muffins the other day…good times! And after much searching, I finally remembered the website: halfmysize.com

    mmmmmm, makes me want to go bake something…

  5. The muffins were great. I have a recipe for fruit cobbler.
    1 can fruit pie filling
    1 regular box of cake mix
    1 can of sprite or any lemon-lime soda
    Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Spray a 13x9x2-inch cake pan with Pam.
    Pour the pie filling over the bottom of pan.
    Pour the dry cake mix over the filling. Do not stir.
    Pour the sprite over the cake.Don’t mix.
    Bake in 375 degrees oven for 45 minutes.

  6. I so can’t wait to try these muffins – they sound DELICIOUS!! Thanks!

  7. Just printed this out! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

