Job Hunting

I’m looking for a new job and becoming increasingly frustrated with the difficulty in finding a job I like that likes me. While I do currently have a job, its part time, so I spend most of my time home, reading, watching TV, cooking and cleaning. Plus, I don’t make a whole lot of money. Don’t get me wrong, I do like my current job, and I’m pretty good at it (if I do say so myself), so I’m not looking to leave this job altogether, just find something I can add to my current job. Since I can work weekends, that shouldn’t be too hard to do.

I’ve really been wanting to find a career that puts my degree to good use, and I decided while I was still in school what I really wanted to do was write. I worked with a magazine one summer in my hometown, and was told I needed to come and work for them full time once I graduated. Alas, I moved to Virginia full-time and couldn’t take that job. But, haven’t been offered a job, I never imaged finding a new one would be so difficult. Even jobs I consider myself overqualified for have decided not to even interview me, finding “more qualified candidates.” There so many people looking for jobs in this field, and just not enough jobs.

I’ve found a job I desperately want. I would beg for this job; I would work lunch and a biscuit on Fridays. This job involves writing for websites the company creates, helping clients learn to write more effectively, and bloging. Not to mention, it seems everyone in the company loves learning and sharing what they’ve learned, so I would learn something new everyday. I desperately, desperately want this job. I don’t care that I’d have an hour-long commute – it would be worth it. But, given my track record with finding jobs in this field, I don’t seriously believe I’ll get this job. But I’m still hoping, and obsessively checking my e-mail, hoping to hear back from them.

Leave a Reply

