Life Long Friends

I hadn’t realized how much I missed my friends until I got to see many of them this weekend. I’m still amazed at how much, and how quickly and strongly we all bonded during college, and I am so thankful for each and every one of them. Now, the bonds that we formed are expanding to include boyfriends and husbands. I know I, and I think my friends do as well, genuinely want to be friends with, and supportive of each and every one of the “significant others.” What still surprises me most about all of these relationships is that, by and large, they weren’t something that were intentionally formed. Yes, we are wanted to have friends, but I don’t think any of us thought, “let me be friends with every one of these girls, and hopefully we’ll all be close.” Now I find myself looking for friends, trying to make them and have the same close bond with them, and I am learning that it doesn’t happen as easily or as quickly as it seemed to in this case. I know I have been blessed with something special, and I hope to remain friends with everyone for a long, long time. It makes me sad to know I won’t see this friends as frequently as I once did, every day, but knowing how special our bond is, I think it special and strong enough to last, even if we only see each other face to face a few times a year.

Leave a Reply

